Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emmaggf

question for advanced growers

emmaggf
10 years ago

hey everyone,
im new to this growing thing and im on my third run. i've done okay so far but am struggling with the plant support as they get bigger. i've been using the bamboo but its very hard to work with because its far too tall for my plants and its hitting lights, fans, etc. its not allowing me to lower my lights to get more lumens exposure. i was also told by a friend that your bamboo can hold mites and other bugs. is this true?

i saw in the store a product called ultimate plant cage. seems it will solve my issues. has anyone used one before or can tell me whether it really works? i found the following clip on youtube which shows it: http://youtu.be/9rKBGysjUAI

seems like such a great idea just want to check with the experts before i go buy some. any advice would be appreciated. thanks!

Comments (7)

• Jimmy_Jack
    10 years ago

I'm very new to hydroponics, but if I can offer a suggestion? Can you post a picture of your situation? It would allow for some better understanding of what you are dealing with. I made a pvc superstructure to allow for support when my tomatos need it eventually. My setup is indoors though. Post a pic so we can help.

• grizzman
    10 years ago

I assume you're growing tomatoes based on the size of the plant. Simply cut off all leaves after the first leaf cluster below the lowest fruit and coil the stem at the bottom.
    You can also crush the stem at the tip of the plant to slow the plants growth and shorten the nodal spacing of the leaf clusters (which will also shorten the plant)
    As for support, I normally use a string and tie a loose knot around the plant near the top.

• robert_1943
    10 years ago