Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
museic

pH question

museic
14 years ago

Hi, I'm new to hydroponics, but its winter here and I'm going to give it a go. I'm planning on growing some herbs for the kitchen and I'm all set to go but I have a question about the pH of the water.

My tap water comes out about 7.6, so I've adjusted it with pH down to 5.5-6.0 where it should be. What is weird is that I came back 2 days later and its back up to 7.6. Now this is WITHOUT anything growing yet. Just water in my reservoir sitting there waiting to be used, with no nutrients yet.

So I'm wondering what would make the pH change on its own like that? I don't get it?

Any help?!

Comments (6)

• hex2006
    14 years ago

Hi
    Its caused by the carbonate hardness of the water. I used to use hard tapwater and needed a vast amount of nitric acid to bring the ph down. It was a nightmare as i`d keep adding acid and nothing happened until the buffering capacity was used up..at which point the ph would plummet to about 4 :)
    I`d recommend using RO water or rainwater if pollution isn`t an issue, it`ll save you a small fortune on ph down.

• museic
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the reply guys! Not quite what I wanted to hear, but kind of what I expected. I guess I'll start looking for an RO unit.

• museic
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Ok. I have a new question. I bought an RO unit. And it gives a PPM of 0 and a pH of 4.8. This is great! Except I'm wondering why when I add pH down it has no effect? I'm just playing around with the pure water right now and this didn't make sense to me. Is it because I haven't added nutrients yet and there are no salts to work off of or something? I'm using a hydroponic ph down. The pH up worked well and shot up the pH right away, and I overshot where I was aiming, then added pH down and it won't even move a .1?

Water chemistry sure is more confusing than I originally thought!

• urbangardenfarmer
    14 years ago