Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
master_eeyore

Challenge: Hydroponics onboard Ships

Master_Eeyore
19 years ago

I have no experience, and am looking for opinions. I am going to sea soon, and want to have fresh herbs and greens. I am considering a hydroponic system. Knowing a ship is not stationary, and hydroponics include water, what system would you recommend? I do not have a lot of space, either.... The goal would be to provide a salad daily for one person for 3-6 months, so... how much space would I need?

Thanks for your time.

Pat

Comments (11)

• Zember311
    19 years ago

Aeroponics would be a good idea for your voyages.

Unlike Deep water culture/bubblers, your won't have a large surface of water that can become turbulent with the changing water conditions,Plus you can use such small space as N.F.T and others would require a bit of a bench space.

you could have your nutirent solution is a container that is smaller then most systems, with a lid to keep the waves on the outside of the vessel.

The catch would be the water pump, assuming you can maintain the generator at all times, this would be low draw seeing how the pump only needs to be cycled. A few mister nozzles in your rooting chamber and you would have it.

Best bet is loose leaf lettuce , going take up a lot less space then the commercial style of whole head lettuce and you can pack them pretty close to one another.

Just my two cents to help a fellow boater :)

• adrianag
    19 years ago

Fourteen square feet.

I grew mesclun greens commercially in perlite beds. The seeds were broadcast densely (3-4/sq. inch). Yields averaged about 1/3#/sq ft. per harvest (ranging from 1/4-1/2 # depending on the variety), with subsequent harvests after 2 weeks.

2 oz. is an OK salad size, so let's say each sq. ft. yields 2 2.5 oz. salads. You would need 7 square feet of production of harvestable product, harvest half of the bed one week, the other half the next.