Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beardzilla

Homemade Nutrient Solution for Tomatoes

Beardzilla
13 years ago

Hello Everyone. I am new to hydroponics but I am a chemist so paying a rediculous price for premade nutrient solutions is tough to swallow. Does anyone here make their own nutrient solutions/concentrates for tomatoes? If so, what recipes and schedules do you use?

Also, I am used to buying chemicals for the lab but they are generally expensive for various reasons. What companies do you use to buy the base chemicals (potassium nitrate, ect...)?

Comments (8)

• homehydro
    13 years ago

Hello Beardzilla,
    I have never made my own nutrients, although plan to sometime in the future. But I have found a recipe from the university of Arizona for hydroponic tomatoes. It's also a great site for all kinds of information on hydroponic tomatoes.
    Tomato Nutrition

Again I have not made my own nutrients but I have found a few places that sell the mineral elements.

Cropking ( they have an online catalog, and you can also call them directly)
    Hydro-Gardens ( their website is a bit confusing to me, but they do sell the mineral elements, so I would just call them)
    Eco Enterprises (I didn't really see the individual mineral elements listed on their website, but I know they sell them. I have the new catalog and their listed on page 11 in the print catalog)
    Verti-Gro (I'm not sure if they sell the individual mineral elements, but you can call them and ask. They make their own brand of fertilizers, and their much cheaper than most)
    Spectrum Chemical Mfg. Corp. (this is a new one that I have found, and I haven't had time to really see what they have yet. But they do sell to the farming and hydroponic industry's, and I have the 2011 cataloge)

• homehydro
    13 years ago