Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chamfreak

Hydroponic palm growing newbe

chamfreak
18 years ago

Howdy all,

I've been growing indoor palms hydroponicly for the past 18 months as a trial. I'm using a flood and drain system with no artifical light or heat. Results are impresive so far but there are a few questions I'd like answered if possible.

1. what nutrients would be recomended for growing palms? ( I'm using an off the shelf "general purpose" nutrient)

2.would extra light and heat be advantagious?

The main puropse of growing these palms hydroponicly is for seed production.

I can post some pics if required.

Thanks in advance,

Jay.

Comments (3)

• jimr007
    18 years ago

Hi Chamfreak,
    When I lived in Brisbane, birds used to sit in our Jacaranda tree and chew on palm seeds, then drop the bare seed onto the lawn or into a garden. Later, I noticed small palm trees starting to sprout.
    This tells me that palms are not very fussy what they are planted into and what you give them to "eat".

If you would like to make your own nutrient solution from basic ingredients, please have a look at my web site from Australia below. I use a coarse sand medium which would be ideal for many palms, after all, they do grow in deserts.

Cheers,
    Jimr007
    Sunshine Coast, Queensland.

Here is a link that might be useful: Simple Sand Hydroponics

• baci
    18 years ago

Chamfreak, how long will it take for the palms to produce seeds? You will also need a pollinator.
    What kind of palm are you growing? The amount of lighting and heat needed will depend on the palm grown. Some are drought tolerant & some are tropical. Some varieties, such as the Queen will do well when started in a moist environment, but will not transplant out to a dry environment once they are started in a moist environment. Palms tend to like salts, which is a plus for hydro growing.