Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michael255

Algae in DWC

Michael255
12 years ago

I'm a newbie to hydroponics and am having a rough start. I built a dwc out of a sturdy rubbermaid tote and have had algae problems within days of my first two attempts. After my first attempt, I thought the issue may be that light was getting through the spaces between the hydroton, so on my second attempt I cover the top of my container and the hydroton with panda film. I had also cleaned everything (container, net pots, air stone, air line) with a 10% bleach solution before starting again. On my second attempt with new seedlings I noticed on the first day after putting the plants (simpson lettuce) and nutrients (Technaflora Recipe for Success) in the system, the pH spiked (to 7.5 to 8.0 from about 6.0 from the previous day), but the water was still clear. On the second day, I came home to a tank full of cloudy, frothy, slimy brown water with stuff floating in it. The water temperature was between 68-72 degrees. I not sure what's going wrong here; I suppose light is getting into my system, I'm just not sure how. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (18)

• TheMasterGardener1
    12 years ago

"I suppose light is getting into my system, I'm just not sure how."

That is what you ahve to find out. A bar of soap in the res. should help it is what the pros use.

• homehydro
    12 years ago

Michael255
    Given your description it sounds like you have a fungus in the system, not algae. Most of the time algae is a green color, and will always die off when the light source is eliminated.