Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cattleman30

Hydroponics with use of nutriant rich wastewater

cattleman30
15 years ago

You may be thinking waste water like from a home but no, I've been mulling and working on an idea, maybe an experimental thing to try, and may try to incorperate a little profit from this or grants to develop the system.

First off I'm a dairy farmer with my folks, we work 134 acres plus milk cows all our feed from the crops goes to the cows, and course you know cows leave that special something behind. well in accordance to the laws of waste water coming from our parlor mostly manure and pipeline wash cycles, some discarded milk and such. I've come to find out that we are going to need to redirect our drainage some how to be pumped out and used, with that I thought of a year round Greenhouse that would use this wastewater, which would have all the solid material removed in a screening/cleaning and removed to a dry out area to be used in the fields but in my thinking the water would retain the nutrients of calcium and NPK and some others. with that id add or balance it with the formulas i've seen for PH and what not and run it through a Hydroponic system.(maybe even incorperate fish at a later time.) my question is has anything like this been done before if so anyone know where it could be found, or Am I just going to be spending a lot of money on something that would never work. I've seen something close to what popular science has brought up about multi level greenhouses using human waste and such, and this is where it got me thinking about doing this on my farm maybe for me maybe for other to follow on other farms as a supplimental income. thanks for any help or answers you can give me on this matter.:)

Comments (14)

• greystoke
    15 years ago

I use your idea on a much reduced scale. I use my fishtank water - which contain small amounts of nitrates, phosphates and calcium - as a supplement to my hydroponic nutrient solutions.