Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
markmahlum

nutrients

markmahlum
14 years ago

As I stated in an earlier thread, I am new to hydroponics. The nutrient cost is prohibitive and something of a barrier to the practicability of this gardening method. Produce quality, enjoyment and cost effectiveness are the the things that matter to me. Hydroponics on a small scale fails the cost effectiveness test, it seems.

Does anyone have a suggestion for reducing the cost of the nutrients? Is it practical to mix one's own?

Mark

Comments (16)

• ohman11
    14 years ago

Read a few post down about Canna Nutes.

• bilberrybrian
    14 years ago

To reduce costs you could buy liquid nutrients in bulk, go with a commercial product that you mix with water yourself or buy all the raw ingredients and formulate something from scratch.

The following website given only as an example. The nutrients here work along the lines of "just add water." Without looking too closely I would guess this website is aimed at the serious hobbyist or the small-scale commercial grower.

If you want to make a nutrient fromula from scratch there are a few things to keep in mind. First is that the initial cost of stocking every ingredients will be substantial. For example, 500 grams of ACS grade sodium molybdate dihydrate can cost you around $100. That much sodium molybdate will last you forever. However, when things cost $50 here and $100 there it all adds up rather quickly. You will also need to some equipment like a balance, possibly a pipette, etc. Some knowledge of chemistry is going to be necessary and a background in plant biology wouldn't hurt.

Here is a link that might be useful: Nutrient Example

• markmahlum
    Original Author
    14 years ago