Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ramsay22

Standard HID's from Lowes/Home Depot

ramsay22
15 years ago

I see standard metal halide and high pressure sodium bulbs made by Phillips and Sylvania at Lowes and HD for much cheaper prices than the hydro stores. I realize that the hydro specific bulbs have added phosphors,etc., which supposedly make them better for plants, but for the substantial price difference I am considering trying the standard bulbs. Any advice or experiences with these bulbs?

Thanks

Comments (12)

• disinmtl
    15 years ago

I am a rookie, but I bought a ballast and 1000w hps at an electrical supply house (for electricians), I paid 125 for the ballast and 30 for the bulb, had to do the wiring myself. I grow lettuce and tomatoes indoor, have many problems b/c I am a rookie, but they grow like mad and set fruit under that light. My experience has been great with the light. I'll send you pics and how to's for the wiring if you want. Note, I don't think home depot carries what you want.

• ramsay22
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks. They have the bulbs, but not the ballasts, Around $25-30 for 400W metal halide or HPS

• rokal
    15 years ago

The initial lumens and lumen maintenance on the MH bulbs from Home Depot is quite bad. These bulbs are often universal burn which doesn't help either.

Look into pulse start metal halide. You can order a bulb online for about $30. You can order a pulse start ballast kit for about $55.

Google "pulse start metal halide" or "pulse strike metal halide" for more info.

Regards,

Rokal

• Karen Pease
    15 years ago