Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tiphereth

EC measurement

tiphereth
14 years ago

Hello

im new to the whole EC and even pH thing. i got the pH strips tester and i bought hanna EC meter that measures in ppm.

and i got different nutrient recipes that i will mix them myself and suit diff growth phases..

what i understood i will measure the EC after adding the nutrients to water and then check the pH and adjust it if it needed so.

but the two questions are:

does each plant like specific concentration of nutrients and if it is yes where would i find this kind of info, i have many plants?

and if i should measure EC after applying it to the medium where my babies r planted (peatmoos, sand, perlite and vermiculite) how would i measure it the second day to see if the plant took more nutrients than water or the contrary? in order to adjust the concentration if it didnt work well for them, i beleive EC meters can be dipped only in liquids? right?

i can't figure that out!

thanks

Heba

Comments (8)

• grizzman
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

For various EC and pH, try HERE.
    As for the second part of your question, that's a bit more difficult as it does not sound like you're running a recirculating system.
    Generally you start with a known pH and EC nutrient. after its run through the system a day or two, you check the EC and pH again. If both are the same, the plant is using all the nutrients fairly equally. if the EC is higher or lower, your plants are using more or less water than fertilizer repectively. if the pH fluctuates, it means they are using more of some components than others. In general, if the pH increases, you're using more Nitrogen. If the pH decreases, you're using more phosporus.
    In your case, since you're not recirculating the nutrient, you'll have to establish a base line of the nutrient coming out the bottom of the plant pots then test again and base your observations on the base line reading.

• tiphereth