Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tbaleno

Plant dying, need help!

tbaleno
16 years ago

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong with this plant. It is the only one that is looking rough.

It is a squash or cucumber (I forget which).

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (23)

• iliketoast
    16 years ago

Is it getting enough water? Those EC's look kinda dry.

• grizzman
    16 years ago

Looks to me like too much water.

• iliketoast
    16 years ago

Is there such a thing as too much water? My clay balls (excuse the innuendo) are constantly wet, and although it leads to some algae until it gets shaded by the plant, I've never had a problem with it.

Keep in mind, I'm very new to hydroponics. I'm just curious if too much water can be a bad thing.

• tbaleno
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Just a little more info. It is in one of those Emily's garden which I believe is a wick system. The rockwool it is in is sitting on the wick.

My current thoughts are (overwatered, and/or undernourished, and/or ph too high (PH is adjusted to around 6 or 6.5 using backing soda).

How important is TDS monitoring? Should I get a meter and keep a closer eye on that?

Tom

• grizzman
    16 years ago

Yeah you can water too much. It'll keep the root zone saturated and deprive the roots of oxygen and/or rot them out.
    It could be lack of nutrient.
    I day if its the only one showing those signs, pull it and start another. Maybe its just a weak seedling.

• iliketoast
    16 years ago

Grizzman said: Yeah you can water too much.

Well, crap. I don't think I understand hydroponics at all. I thought dousing them or even submerging them in oxygenated water was all good.

I think I'm going back to the garden. 8-8-8 and some seeds = product. Hydroponics seems to finicky.

Nah, I'll keep trying. I spent $200 on the light, for cripes sake.

• kilimats
    16 years ago