Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dzeanah

Cheap, high-quality nutrient sources?

dzeanah
18 years ago

I'm new to this, but am growing (or plan on growing) strawberries, tomatoes (lots!), salad greens, herbs, elephant garlic, roses, and a bunch of other stuff.

So far I've been using Gen Hydro's Flora line and the plants are doing wonderfully. Now I'm wondering what I can use that'll make them do as well but cost a bit less.

So, I've got a couple of questions:

1) the expensive nutrient mixes seem to come in 2 formulations: one for the vegetative stage and the other for flowering/fruiting. Does switching appropriately make a big difference in plant health or yield, or would a good general purpose nutrient mix do about as well (with PPM adjusted appropriately)?

2) What nutrient mix are you happiest with? Anyone avoid dry mixes for any reason?

3) Is there really any reason to use any particular dry mix, or are they all about comparable? Is it significantly cheaper to mix your own from scratch (and if so, anyone have a link to a good recipe?)

Thanks. Just trying to make sure I'm not making any major mistakes, but I'd like to avoid paying too much money at the same time...

Comments (4)

• jimr007
    18 years ago

Hi Dzeanah,
    Please have a look at my site from Australia. It will tell you just about anything you wish to know about nutrient formulations, and even how to actually make a simple system. It is pretty comprehensive and contains an email address if you need to follow anything up.
    Cheers,
    Jimr007
    Australia.

Here is a link that might be useful: Simple Sand Hydroponics

• cavemangardener
    18 years ago

hi dzeanah

I have used GH maxi series before; it is their dry nutrient line. It is available in grow and bloom formulation, and works just as well as the flora series. As shipping to your local retailer is less for dry nutrient, they cost less for exactly the same performance.

The dyes in the maxi series will stain many plastics.