Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ricksindoorgarden

Volksgarden

ricksindoorgarden
11 years ago

I'm a new member and new to indoor hydroponics, I have grown summer hydroponics gardens for years outdoors in Bato Bucket systems but I just set up to do the indoor year round grow thing. I purchased a Volksgarden system and equipped it with a 400 watt HID light to grow my leaf vegetables, it grows up to 80 plants with a 4 foot by 2 and a half foot footprint so for space it's hard to beat.

I have noticed with my first planting that both my arugula and my spinach have grown leggy and bolted after less than a month in the system. Is this from too much light? The volksgarden light is in a glass cylinder and a stream of air is sucked past the bulb to keep it from getting too hot. The daytime temperature is about 70 degrees and the night temp cools to 65.

Any input will be appreciated, as I said I'm new to the indoor garden thing and eager to do this right.

Thanks

Comments (19)

• grizzman
    11 years ago

Well leggy is generally a sign of not enough light. Bolting is normally a result of plant genetics and could be attributed to too little light as well. the plant thinks winter is coming so goes to seed. Spinach is a cold weather crop, but I don't believe 70 degrees is too hot. I can't speak to the arugula.
    could you post a picture of your system?

• ricksindoorgarden
    Original Author
    11 years ago

This is the volksgarden running.

This post was edited by Ricksindoorgarden on Fri, Mar 1, 13 at 21:02

• grizzman
    11 years ago

Do the plants spin around the bulb?

• ricksindoorgarden
    Original Author
    11 years ago