Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artwk_gw

Outdoors: ebb&flow vs RDWC?

artwk
13 years ago

I'm not new to hydroponics, but I have never tried it outside before. I've designed a system that I can either use as an E&F or RDWC.

{{gwi:1000758}}

I plan on growing tomatoes, cukes, anything with a vine that i can drape over my deck railing.

It uses 5 gallon buckets. You can't see inside, but the input has a 90* elbow pointing down into the bucket (a length of hose could be attached to allow the buckets to siphon out for e&f)

The reservoir will be located in my crawlspace, with a 2ft waterfall from the return line for aeration.

The only concern here is reservoir temperatures. I feel that ebb&flow would be less susceptible to warmer temps, but any kind of pump/timer failure could be devastating. The recirculating system probably would have some minor leaks (being realistic here) but growth rates should be increased. And of course i would need a pump with a high flow rate.

Any experiences with res temps outside? My crawlspace stays in the 60s, but outside gets hot in the summer (Chicago). So i really have no idea what to expect. Just can't decide what to do.

Comments (11)

• grizzman
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Will you fill the hole bucket with media or just a 6" of so net pot? with whole bucket, got EnF 15 min (or whatever it takes to flood)every 3 or 4 hours.
    I grow outside, almost exclusively, in the south and usually just lay a piece of foam insulation board in front of the rez to block some of the heat. If your rez is in the 40+ Litre range, heat shouldn't be too much of a problem.

• homehydro
    13 years ago

First I would like to say that is a nice looking image. Did you use Google Sketchup to create it? I grow everything outside myself. I agree with grizzman that the larger the reservoir the better. It takes a lot more energy and much longer to heat up larger volumes of water than it does to heat a small volume of water.