Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amwewa66

Outdoor Hydroponic Rookie

amwewa66
15 years ago

I am new to hydroponics and am very interested in hydro since the price of veggies has gone up. I live in Tarpon Springs, Fl and have a nice size yard and will be starting to get things ready today.

Has anyone used multiple 5 gal buckets linked together to make one system?

Does anyone use a vertical system?

Is anyone using large plastic trash cans to grow fruit trees?

Has anyone tries growing kiwi or grapes hydroponicly?

I will be setting up my home page with photos of my property and would love to get as much input as I can from all of you hydro experts. Bring it on.

Thanks a bunch.

Andy

Comments (4)

• freemangreens
    15 years ago

Andy:

If you're looking to save money on veggies, hydroponics is probably not the answer. There are several "start-up" costs involved using hydroponics.

If you're still interested, I'd recommend you do LOTS of research and decide which method you're going to use before you start experimenting as experimenting costs money; sometimes lots of money!

I grow in zone 10b, California, and it's similar to Florida, without the humidity. I'd recommend you use the "static-culture" method. I've listed all the popular methods on my Web page (URL in profile). Study up on them BEFORE you decide to go it using hydroponics.

You mentioned vertical gardening; that's covered on my page as well. I grow strawberries and tomatoes, each vertically.

• amwewa66
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Freemangreens

Veggie cost is not the only reason. Urban survival is the main reason. If the economy continues to tank I will at least be able to feed my family. I will be growing fruits, veggies, vines (kiwi, grapes), potatoes (in bins), and all of our favorites.

I am also working on a 12 volt solar power system to supply the juice needed to run my hydroponics.