Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cheri_berry_gw

Newbie needs a 'must have' list :)

cheri_berry
14 years ago

Hey folks! I'm a newbie to gardening in general and I want to dabble in hyroponics a bit to learn the systems and figure out which ones work best and how to do it right before I go larger scale (which is the plan)

So... my dad and I are doing this together and he wants me to get a list of things I absolutely need to start.

I am planning to buy two General Hydroponics Power Grower Eco systems and then maybe building my own after that if it works out well.

So my question really is...what all do I need besides that? I have a list of things I THINK I need, I just want to make sure your lists and my list matches :)

In your experiances, so you really need a Truncheon meter? That's the one I'm most confused about because it's hardly mentioned at all in articals I've read.

And I also want you to keep in mind that I like to do things right the first itme so I learn it right. I like to learn as I go and experiment and I'm not afriad to try things LOL So have at me! Tell me what you guys have learned through your experiances.

Thanks!!

~~Cheri~~

Comments (50)

• cheri_berry
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks!! That's exactly the list I had (minus the wattage for the lights, thanks for that!!), and I have been reviewing the EC meters and I didnt know that was the same thing (duh...I know...but I'm a newbie LOL).

Let me ask you this...the place I was thinking of putting these is next to my back patio door, it doesnt get full sunlight because the back atio is covered. I wouldn't still need the reflective surfice would I? And I would assume I would still need 400 watt...? I could put it somewhere else if need be, it was just a thought.

The containers DO come with 3 part flora, but I DID want to go organic, so thank you for the recomendation!!