Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hillbillygal_gw

Info Needed

hillbillygal
15 years ago

Hi

I am a novice at this but would really like to experiment with it but I need some info like could I use an old 10 gallon aqurium? and what all would i need to put in it? any info would be appreciated, so much info on net that it gets confusing.

Thank You

K

Comments (5)

• Karen Pease
    15 years ago

Sounds like a pretty expensive reservoir. And the first step would be to make it *not* clear ;)

What type of hydroponics are you looking at? Since you seem to be new, here's some examples:

Ebb&flood: You routinely flood a growing medium, usually based on a pump on a timer. The flood drains out, leaving damp growing medium. Vulnerable to pump failures. Excellent aeration.

Nutrient film: You have a continuous, but very thin "film" of water running down a gutter that your plants can dip their roots into -- thus getting both air and water -- without any growing medium. Very vulnerable to pump failures. Excellent aeration.

Drip: Your plants grow in a growing medium with some moisture retention capability, such as sand, and soaker hoses keep it constantly damp. Runoff is collected underneath. Minimal vulnerability to pump failure. Good aeration.

Passive: Your plants grow in a medium that has liquid pooled at the bottom, which you replenish from time to time. No vulnerability to pump failure. Moderate to good aeration.

Aeroponics: Your plants hang suspended in a chamber through which you "mist" them with nutrient solution (no growing medium). Very vulnerable to failure. Excellent aeration.

Wick: Your plants remain in contact with a wet wick, which sucks moisture up from a solution below. No vulnerability to pump failure. Good aeration. Water delivery may be insufficient for large plants.