Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wardend_gw

Transplanting

wardend
17 years ago

I am new to hydroponics as you might guess by the questions I have. I have two General Hydroponics Rainforest 236's with the modular lid conversion to make them Rainforest 66's. I also have a 12 bucket ebb and flow system. This setup allows me to transplant the seedlings to larger (2" to 6" to 8" containers.

I am germinating several varieties from seed in the Rainforests with a range of success. I have a couple questions:

1) What should I use as a criteria to move the young plants to larger containers? Is there a limit on the extent of root growth into the nutrient broth (ie is that what I should be looking for more than actual plant size)?

2) Many of these seedlings will be replanted into the ebb and flow system (Hydroton clay pebbles) and soil. Do you have any suggestions to avoid shock/loss due to media change?

Ray

Comments (10)

• tclynx
    17 years ago

I'm still kinda new to this too but I move seedlings from my propagation set up (usually foam egg cartons with holes punched in bottom) to the larger size containers bassed on one of two things. Either they get a pair of true leaves or, their roots are starting to come out of the egg cartons so I want to move them before I would be doing too much root damage. My experience is mainly with lettuce, salad crops, peas, turnips, and radishes.

As for shock. Keep the nutrient weak right after transplanting and gradually bring it up to desired strength since too strong a nutrient may burn transplants. Perhaps some extra attention and top watering untill the roots reach the nutrient?

that's just my two cents.

• wardend
    Original Author
    17 years ago