Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shouden

Reservoir Mystery

Shouden
12 years ago

Hello All! This is my first post on GardenWeb. I'm not new to soil gardening (peppers, tomatoes, herbs, etc), but I am new to hydroponics. My fiance and I decided this year we would set up a greenhouse and build an ebb & flow hydroponics system inside of it.

We are approaching this new hobby from multiple angles knowing that we have a LOT to learn. We bought some seedlings from Home Depot in addition to starting some plants ourselves from seed. We carefully washed off the soil from the plants we bought at the store and placed them into small containers with hydroton. We had some leftover hydroton that had sat outside in a container(and got rained on many times).. we did wash this hydroton with a mixture of hydrogen peroxide and water. We thoroughly rinsed them until there was no debris or discoloration in the water. We also bought a gigantic bag of new hydroton from the store and used some of that for about half the plants. We also thoroughly rinsed the new hydroton.

The design of our system is a 38ga black plastic reservoir(store bought) with 3/4" thick plywood sitting on top of it as a lid. The reservoir sits directly underneath the floodtable that is suspended with bricks. Due to the design and placement of the reservoir, little to no direct sunlight hits the reservoir itself. We do use a pH tester and try to keep the nutrient water about 6.0. We use old 5ga zephyrhills bottles and fill up tap water from our garden hose and then let it sit for at least a couple days before using the water.