Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cuisinartoh

grow room temp/humidity management

cuisinartoh
15 years ago

Hi all. I'm a newbie trying to grow tomatoes and salad herbs under HID in my sun room. The room is 7.5' x 15.5' x 7.25' (170 cu ft overall). There is a link to pics below. It's only March in Ohio but already I can see troubles with heat and humidity in the near future. As you can see, I have lots of windows and even french doors to the outside (not shown). My wife would rather I not use a fan and ducting between the lights. She likes to sit in the room and already thinks I've dorked it up enough! She suggested I get a small window AC unit to run in the room. Do you think that would work ok to control either the temp, humidity, or both? HIDs are 400w MH and 400w HPS with standard transformer ballasts. Using window fans isn't tenable since for security reasons or rain reasons.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Thank you very much!

Here is a link that might be useful: My Hydroponics Page

Comments (12)

• grizzman
    15 years ago

I would recommend you take your plants outside as soon as weather permits.
    on the other hand you could rig up a 50 gallon barrel of water to act as a heat sink to absorb the excess heat while the lights are on and release it during the dark cycle. You'd need to do a little math to make sure you had the right volume of water. And you'll need to contemplate how to fashion the heat exchanger. And when its all said and done, it'll still look like a duct tape mechanic did it all. . .
    just put'm outside.

• cuisinartoh
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Then I have to deal with keeping the reservoirs cool by burying them or some other means. I'll have some traditional soil gardens going over the summer. So if I can't maintain an indoor garden through the summer, then I'll shut it down until the Fall.