Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jackblasto

changing your reservoir

jackblasto
10 years ago

So the guy at the hydro store tells me to change my reservoir every two weeks... Well, I started doing that and have now resorted to topping it off every two weeks :) I mean FULL changes every two weeks for lettuce and peas??? I think the guy at the hydro store wants me to invest hundreds of dollars in nutrients for a dollar item at the grocery store. ON top of that, after topping off a few gallons here and there over the past few months my veggies are growing and producing perfectly fine. So I guess my question is how many of you guys change out your reservoirs in their entirety OFTEN? I mean I'm a hobbyist just having fun. Doesn't seem like I need to grow lettuce and peas that are going to be in contests? Any feelings on this?

Comments (8)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

There's no set rule, and you pegged it -- that it's misleading marketing that you're dealing with.

You can run your nutrients down before a reservoir change and they plants won't mind, they'll just taste better, first off. That way waste is minimized. Your plants don't have to be fed like geese getting pate made from their bloated livers.

People need to forget about changing frequency as a primary determinate, and look at how much their plants are eating. Without knowing how many liters of solution there is per plant in the specific set up, the plant growth rate, and the solution strength, to talk about a changing frequency is kind of useless, unless you are a salesman selling nutrients.

All you need to do is manage your EC range and you decide when your reservoir is dirty enough or if your plants seem not up to par. Mine are currenty outside iunder Florida folliage and spores and crap falls in all the time so I change every 6 weeks.