Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
feldon_gw

Starting seeds hydroponically

feldon
17 years ago

I have a question which I will try to make as brief as possible. I purchased an ebb & flo system, it's by SunSystems. I have also got MH lights in 400 & 250 with ballasts. And HD ballasts in 400 & 1000. That's the basic set up I have to play with. My intent is to start growing herbs, basils, tomatoes, veg & possibly flowers. Now, the question.. Do I simply drop a seed in rockwool cubes to start the germination process? also which lights should I start out with, and work up to what? As a novice I would appreciate a little insight from all you experts out there if you have the time.

Thanks feldon

Comments (9)

• safwat
    17 years ago

Hi Feldon:
    You can start placing the seeds directly in rockwool cubes as follows:
    1. Place the Rockwool cubes in a shallow tray,throughly saturate the Rockwool cubes with 1/2 strength Grow nutrient solution, adjust pH to about 6.2
    2. Sow 2-3 seeds into a small hole in each of the Rockwool cube.
    3. Water the cubes with 1/2 strength Grow Nutrient, keep them moist all times.
    4. Set the tray under the MH lights for 18 hours per day until the seedlings are 4-6" tall.
    5. Transfer the cubes with the best seedlings to a depression in the pre soaked Rockwool slabs, puncture two holes near the bottom of each slab, place them in Ebb and Flo system .
    6. Fill the reservoir with adjusted Grow Nutrient Solution to pH 6.2
    7. Turn on the Pump manually and let it saturate the Rockwool slabs, then turn it off .
    8.Using the pump's timer, adjust it to irregate the plants three times a day during light hours.
    9.On daily basis make up the loss of the water due to evaporation.
    10.Change the nutrient solution of the reservoir every 10 days. Make sure to flush down the system with plain water between Nutrient change to get rid of the accumulated minerals in the Rockwool.