Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cannabalbambi

new to hydroponics need help

cannabalbambi
20 years ago

Hi, I am just starting out and have a few questions I hope someone here can help me with. The main reason I am interested in hydroponics is for growing green fodder for my farm animals. The thinking is, it has to be less work than pushing round bales around!

I have just tried to grow my first test batch of seedlings and found that they got mouldy. Is the problem too much water? Not enough fertilizer? Should I be growing the seeds on a screen instead of right on the plastic tray? Should I be covering the seeds with plastic? I left them open to the air last time.

My system is quite small currently as I did not want to spend oodles of money until I get some experience at this. It consists of a 70 litre rubbermaid tote, a very small pump, and an airstone. I have been using the top of the tote for the growing tray.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

thanks

Lori

Comments (9)

• mkirkwag
    20 years ago

I shouldn't even answer you, as I'm not all that successful myself, but I will anyway!

When I have a mold problem, I cut back on the number of cycles I'm running, and it clears right up, but I start mine in rockwool.

• chuck
    20 years ago