Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stevey_frac

Pepper Plants -- Roots turning brown. Help?

stevey_frac
14 years ago

Hi Guys,

I changed the solution on my pepper plants on Sunday. When i did that the pepper plant roots were white like silky.

Now some of the leaves don't look so well, loosing color and curling up a bit, and the roots look slightly brown.

It's almost like there are two distinct sets of leaves to the pepper plants. One set is dark green, vibrant, and covered with little white hairs.

The other set is flat, no hairs, and loosing color.

Any suggestions on how to proceed?

Comments (28)

• ethnobotany
    14 years ago

Im not an expert at growing with hydroponics, but I believe that your problem is one of the following:

a) you have a mold or disease spreading through your roots

b) the nutrients you used were too strong (you used too much)

c) the water you used had too much particulates in it and when mixed with the nutrients, the pH either got too high or too low.

To fix your problem I recommend the following:

First, add 1 tablespoon of hydrogen peroxide to your system. This will help sanitize the water/pump/reservoir/ whatever is in the system your running. Allow the H2O2 (hydrogen peroxide) to work its magic for 10 minutes. After this, drain your system. Fill halfway with water and use another tablespoon of hydrogen peroxide again. Drain as you did the first time.

Now check and make sure that there are no loose or dead roots in the system. If there is throw them away. If you see any moldy roots or leaves, cut them now.

Use your nutrients again making sure that the proper amount is used and try and use the cleanest water possible (well water and some city tap water has a lot of particulates which can directly affect your pH level).