Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ab2008

Question about adding water/nutrients to DWC

ab2008
11 years ago

So I have got about everything ready for my DWC that I want to try one or two peppers, and some lettuce and such. I understand about getting the chlorine out of the water, getting the pH right etc.

However what I am curious about is this... I have two 10 gallon totes that I want to use. I have the flora nutrient 3 packs I purchased from amazon... Once I get everything going and the plants into the water and the nutrients set in... Obviously they are going to pull things out of it. Now when and how often should I change out the water, as well as add more nutrients, etc?

As the plants use water - do I just add more water as necessary until time to change it out? And only add nutrients when I change all of the water out?

I'm not looking for a big system and this is my first time, but I've tried searching for it and it seems I get rather long answers that beat around what I'm asking and make it more complex than it really should be. Any tips is greatly appreciated though!

Comments (5)

• ethnobotany
    11 years ago

Well, when the plants are seedlings and even in early vegetative state you will likely not have to change the water/nutrients very often. It is recommended that you change the nutrients every 1-2 weeks. I try to push towards the 2 weeks but sometimes the plants will tell me otherwise and I may have to change nutrients at 10 days. It depends.

Once you get larger, flowering plants, or even late veg state, things change. At that point you will be dealing with water suckers. You will need to add water every week at least (in most cases). When you add water you will need to check your ppm/EC level and see what the nutrient strength is. If the plants took up a lot of nutrients with the water (they probably did) then you will need to top off your water with more nutrients.