Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xian1g

Hydroponic Hops

xian1g
15 years ago

Not sure if this should fall under blogs or here. I recently started trying to grow hops hydroponically. I'm new to hydroponics. I've been updating every couple of days - but definetly need advice along the way..

here's what I've got so far.

-----

I've seen a lot of interest on the internet about the idea of growing hops hydroponically indoors. The only confirmation I have found is an abstract from a research group that successfully grew hops hydroponically OUTDOORS. I wanted to try this experienment 2 years ago before I joined the military, but didn't have enough time or funds before I joined.

Last weekend a fellow Platoon Leader in our Company and I got together and brewed both of our first batches of beer in a long time. When we picked up the brew supplies the brew store just so happened to have some tettanger rhizones lying around.

This idea, and interest has never left the vualt of my mind, so I picked up the hop rhizones. Figured I'll build this one as it goes.

I dropped the rhizones into a 3 gallon rubbermaid tub with an airstone hooked up to an air pump. I used a metal dish dry rack, cut and tweeked, to keep the rhizones just above the water.

Within a week new roots have began to form and the first shoots have started shooting upward.

here's a picture of what I'm calling the 'rooter'.

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f316/xian1g/hopsrooter.jpg

This weekend I realized that over the next week the first shoots are about to get too tall, and need some light.

so here's the update.