NPK 08-23-18 Nutritional Solution

azee_2009
15 years ago

Hello Everybody,

I need a guideline regarding the following:

I am new to hydroponics & have planned to seek some experience regarding

1: R-DWC Bucket System &

2: Plastic Bottle DWC system.

I have some Bitter Gourd & Round Gourd seedlings is hand with a DWC Pastic Bottle setup (air stones are attached with a single air pump) to each seperate Plastic Bottle & the seedlings were fed only with plain water until now.

Hydroponic supplies are not available in my area.

NPK 08-23-18 granule form is avaiable in our area. I want to mix it with water to form Nutritional Solution for my above said both seedlings to feed them in this hour of need.

What will be easiest way to treat with the same & what would be its consentration?

Awaiting assitance.

Prior thanks.

Azee.

Comments (7)

• hex2006
    15 years ago

If its a soil nutrient the N is likely to be in the form of urea, in hydro nutrients nitrate is the most common form of N. Some of the macro and micro nutrients may need chelating to make them available to the plants as the bacteria and microbes in the soil usually perform the task.
    Flood and drain makes a more effective biofilter than dwc for converting the urea into nitrate although it may take a month or so to get the bacteria upto speed (google for info on the "nitrogen cycle").
    You`d also need to add a chelating agent such as mollasses or citric acid.

• grizzman
    15 years ago

Freemangreens offers directions on his website on how to make a compost tea. That may be a better fit in your situation versus using the urea based fertilizer.

• freemangreens
    15 years ago

I was reading the comment from hex2006 and thought I'd inject something about urea:

Urea-based nitrogen sources "require" soil-borne microbes to break the urea down into useable nitrogen. Since hydroponics uses no "soil" it's best to use a nitrogen source other than urea-based.