Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sethky

When to switch to bloom?

sethky
14 years ago

Okay so my tomatoes are 8 weeks old, and have been in the greenhouse on regular grow nutrients for 4 weeks. Each one has 2 or three sets of flowers coming, and I'm wondering, when do I switch to bloom? The tallest is 22" and I still have 40 inches of space to grow vertically. How much bigger will they get when I switch to bloom?

Here are pics:

My child is in this one for scale. He is 16 months and grows much more slowly than the tomatoes. Maybe I should switch him to bloom?

Comments (13)

• cheri_berry
    14 years ago

I don't really know about the bloom. Being a newb I would probably do it now that one is blooming. But I just wanted to say that your son is ADORABLE!!!

• joe.jr317
    14 years ago

Don't switch him to bloom too early! Kids are already blooming too early. I can't believe my daughter is already 17 and going on 30!

I'd transition, personally. Don't know that it's necessary to go full bloom solution, though.

What nutes do you use?

• grizzman
    14 years ago

when the plants are large enough to support the fruit, switch to bloom. Otherwise you are just promoting additional vegetative growth.

• wordwiz
    14 years ago

Can't answer your question but be careful of the bloom nuits, especially with tomatoes. Many I have seen have next to no calcium which can lead to all of your fruits developing BER. It won't do you any good to have 50 maters ripening if they all rotten.

YMMV.

Mike

• sethky
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Cheri! Joe I use Ionic grow and have the bloom and boost parts as well. Grizzman, I think the plants could support tomatoes now, but I want them to support a sh*t-ton of them, so I would love them to be 5 feet tall eventually. If I switch to bloom now, will they eventually get there?