Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patiogardener124

Watering Schedule Using Hydroton in a Strawberry Vertical Tower

PatioGardener124
12 years ago

Yes I'm a Newbie..... and i have many questions. I live in a third floor apartment and have a 12'x6' balcony... so i dont have a lot of space for growing but I want a project to enjoy over the summer....

I have just started to construct a vertical tower usng a 4"dia x10' pvc pipe. I cut the 10' length in half and have started to drill the holes. I was only going to do 1 -5' section but i had to buy a 10' section so the project has gotten bigger already. I think my project will be most similar to the towers charlie.little's towers.

I have a 10 gallon tote... i think... i'll find out once i start adding the water. I've cut two holes in the lid to accommodate the 4"pvc... theres no way to protect the nutrient solution from getting too hot, but i might go get some spray paint to spray the outside of my tote a lighter color... its currently purple....

I bought Hydroton, expanded clay pellets. I have a timer and an eco396 pump, max head height is 6 plus feet. my question is what should the watering schedule be for this system?

I bought 1/2" dia pvc to be the supply line to the top of the 4"dia pvc but I don't know how to connect the pump to the 1/2" pvc. all the fittings for the pump seem to be for flexible vinyl tubing. Any advice here would be welcome too. I'm not sure of the terminology but i plan on flooding the top of the pipe and letting it drain back down to the resevoir. should i do this once evey hour and one time at night?

I recieved the strawberry plants from sakuma bros.

I have 30 albion and 30 fern, both dayneutral. They came in yesterday and they already have started to sprout little green leaves, there in m refrigerator now. I plan on making some test hanging baskets strategically placed at my families houses.