Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomato_tom

Hydroponic blueberry, blackberry and raspberry

tomato_tom
15 years ago

Hallo,

has anybody tried black-, blue- or raspberry in hydroponics? What is the optimum pH and ppm for each one?

Comments (20)

• grizzman
    15 years ago

blackberries grow like weeds around here, so no. I know they only fruit on second year growth, so plan on having them for awhile without seeing the fruits of your labor.

• daisyd681
    15 years ago

I'm not sure if there are smaller versions, but the blackberry bushes I've seen are taller than a house.

I know my grandpa used to have a blueberry plant in a pot (never saw fruit on it, but we only visited once a year) so I assume they have small versions (I'm assuming it wasn't some bansai or anything). Raspberry bushes can get big too.

I'm really new to all of this, but those seem like some unwieldy, not to mention unfriendly plants to try to wrestle in a hydro system.
    Just my $.02

• rojo_gardener
    15 years ago

how did it go? I have just started my berries and found this thread.

• verotte
    15 years ago

Hi Nourahm, thanks for your posting. It is very informative.

Can I ask how you get started with hydroponic dwarf trees? Do you get a tree at the nursery, shake off the dirt and then plant it in the hydroponic system?

Sounds obvious but since dwarf fruit trees are expensive here in Australia I want to make sure I am doing the right thing.

Cheers

• freemangreens
    15 years ago

My Web site is back up. Here's a link to a page with other links showing pH and EC values. I couldn't find raspberries anywhere, but blackberries and blueberries are on the first two charts listed.

Here's the link:

http://tengreenthumbs.com/?p=586

• freemangreens
    15 years ago

On Strawberry Nutrients:

I grow strawberries, Camrerosa mostly, using a nutrient at EC 1.8 to 2.0 and everyone seems very happy.