Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chefschipull

Starting seedlings for Indoor Hydroponics

chefschipull
17 years ago

Hello, I am extremely new to all of this and I have a few questions about starting up my vegetable hydro system (I'll be using the water culture system using an aquarium):

1. Can you start seedlings in potting soil and transfer them to the hydroponic system after they germinate or would another growing medium work better?

2. I've never started growing from seedlings before, are there different rules with watering and temperature than with transplants?

3. Which vegetables and herbs would work best using the water culture system?

Thanks for your comments in advance!

ChefSchipull

Comments (9)

• willardb3
    17 years ago

snip
    1. Can you start seedlings in potting soil and transfer them to the hydroponic system after they germinate or would another growing medium work better?
    snip

You should keep any and all dirt far, far away from your hydro set-up. Dirt carries the pathogens and pests that hydro gets you away from.

I have heard of others whe have washed their plants thoroughly and don't have problems.....I don't believe it's possible....

• utsharpie
    17 years ago

yes you can transplant dirt plants to hydro, ive been doing it for over 3 years with no problems. if you are worried about soil pathogens grow them in a steril potting soil and indoors under lights until they have a good root system.

wash off as much as the dirt as you can then put em in, yes its that simple.

you might want to use a perlite mix so its easier to wash

• splitsec002
    17 years ago

I've done that 2 years now and my plants have been great. For some reason though this year, I tried 2 kellogs breakfast tomato plants and they just wouldn't adapt to hydro. My other tomato plants are doing great right now and the cucumber is also doing ok.

Give it a try, but make sure you wash off as much dirt as you can.

• john_smith123
    17 years ago

hi guys,