Return to the Hydroponics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Lettuce grown in the tropics need some advice

Posted by sharrysas Tropics (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 7, 12 at 18:08

Hi all,
This is my first time doing any type of growing of vegetables,I built a hydroponic system and I am growing some salina lettuce.
I have a couple of questions since I live in the tropics I am not sure when I should harvest this lettuce it is already 30 days since I planted the seeds.
So how am I suppposed to know when to harvest I am still seeing new leaves coming out and some of the leaves are measuring 9 inches long and 6 1/2 inches wide at the widest part.
I am using 70 percent shade cloth is this too much? What was happening is that the lettuce was wilting badly until I installed the shade cloth.
Are the leaves in the lettuce supposed to be so open?
Since this is my first crop I will be using a ph and ec meter soon since I ordered them from the States,but I have been changing the nutrients out after a week.

Any help with harvest time or suggestions on growing hydroponic lettuce in the Tropics would be appreciated.
Photo of lettuce taken 7th April 2012.

[IMG]http://i1032.photobucket.com/albums/a405/Sharon1957/Hydroponics/salina.jpg[/IMG]

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Lettuce grown in the tropics need some advice

I am not sure when I should harvest this lettuce it is already 30 days since I planted the seeds.
What does it say on the seed package? Typical seed to harvest for lettuce is about 6 weeks in hydro. But there are many varieties, and they don't all grow at the same speed.

So how am I suppposed to know when to harvest I am still seeing new leaves coming out and some of the leaves are measuring 9 inches long and 6 1/2 inches wide at the widest part.