Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
uafgrad

Yellow Leaves with hydroponics

uafgrad
14 years ago

I am a newbie just getting into indoor hydroponics

Currently I have a setup as follows

Large rubber maid tub with 8 holes cut in the lid. Inside is a pump supplying a stream of nutrient enriched water. There is also an airstone in the set up. plants are in mesh pots filed with clay balls.

My water temp is ~80F, PH I check everyday and keep at 6.0. TDS= ~520

My planter has 3 types of basil, 1 tomato, 2 bananna peppers, 1 jalpeno pepper, and some recently started cilantro.

Plants grow very fast and very well.

My only convern is that the leaves are turning yellow.

Im not sure what to do at this point.....

[img]http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2004-8/799663/photo.jpg[/img]

Comments (7)

• uafgrad
    Original Author
    14 years ago

forgot to add

Light is a 90w quad band LED (red/blue/orange/white)
    Light and pump are on a 16h on 8 hour off cycle
    air stone is on 24/7

• scubastan
    14 years ago

If the leaves on top are turning yellow, then i'm going to go with some type of nutrient lockout or deficiency. How old is your nutrient mix?

If the leaves on the bottom are turning yellow, it could be not enough light from the upper leaves shading the lower leaves. It might also be nutrient lockout or deficiency.

• lucas_formulas
    14 years ago

Hi uafgrad,
    If you mean "TDS 520" with a conversion rate of 500 I'd understand it as rather week nutrient concentration. If on the other hand you are using a /700 conversion rate instrument, your nutrient strength is clearly under 1 mS/cm which is too week.

What you most probably have there (according to nutrient strength) is a simple general lack of nutrients that shows up as so called "heavy" marginal and intervenal chlorosis. (magnesium deficiency for instance shows up as intervenal chlorosis and nitrogen deficiency in light green top leafs and yellowing older leafs)