Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
csung1

Hydro Basil or Broccoli requirements- Newbie, please advise!!

csung1
14 years ago

Hi all,

I'm still relatively new to hydroponics, and have a specific question about sweet basil and broccoli. I have DWC, 105W CFL, roughly 15/9 light (didnt get a timer yet, so i;m manually regulating light cycles). I start plants in one bucket, which has three net pot spots. Initially i had a broccoli, sweet basil, and pepper plant.. the pepper plant was started first, and really took off in the system; i've transferred it to its own 5gal DWC bucket now and its doing great. the broccoli and sweet basil however, are still pretty small, and are still in the starter bucket. they might be nutrient locked.. (???)They are roughly on their third set of true leaves, but its been a month or so already.. i'm wondering if anyone has any insight regarding different requirements of these plants (i.e. why did the pepper do great, and the others not so great?). I keep pH roughly 6.0, i don't have a meter for nutrient concentration, i just roughly follow the directions on my nutes (1-2 tsp/gallon). Roots on both are not so spectacular.. don't have a picture, but could post if someone thinks that would help the diagnosis. Please help! Also, if someone has a good website reference specifically for SPECIFIC PH FOR SPECIFIC PLANT, or PPM FOR SPECIFIC PLANTS, that would a good start for me i think... thanks all very very much in advance,

Cliff

oh yea also, i have one air pump per bucket. i don't know the EXACT output of these, but they shoudl be sufficient i imagine. airstone is one of the 4-5 inch long rectangular ones.. and the roots are not waterlogged, i have decent spacing between net pot and water level. thx!