Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wrathofall

My Hot Pepper Situation

wrathofall
14 years ago

OK, I have read so much that I have worked myself into total confusion. So, I found these forums and I pose my questions and situation.

I would like to grow Bhut Jolokia peppers indoors because I live in Michigan and they have a long growing season. I would like to grow about six plants. I would prefer to grow then in soil, but I am open to suggestions. I have no experience, so I need the advice from experienced pepper growers.

Grow medium: Soil is not a necessity, it would just be more convenient for me. However; if a full out hydro unit would produce better results, then I have no problem going that route.

Lights: Of course we have the old stand-by MH and HPS, but what about the new LED technology for this situation? This particular strain of Bhut's can grow to 4+ feet, and from what I have read about the LED's, is that they don't have very deep penetration and I am also concerned with the LACK of heat generated by LED lights.

What I am trying to figure out is what is the best medium and light source for indoor growth of very fussy pepper plants. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments (32)

• Karen Pease
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I raised pepper seedlings under LED light, and they *loved* it. After my squash/melons, they grew the most under it. I'm now in the process of trying to raise one of them to fruiting under LED light (I just put the others in the ground today).

Penetration can be improved via reflection. That's my approach, at least.

• willardb3
    14 years ago

MH and HPS are, at present, the most efficient light sources.

This may change as LED lamps evolve.......

• Karen Pease
    14 years ago

MH and HPS are, at present, the most efficient light sources.