Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hudsonclark

Volume of water? Farming?

hudsonclark
13 years ago

Hello everyone my name is hudson. I'm very interested in hydroponics because I'm an industrial engineer and I'm studying it and doing research to find out some pretty neat stuff. I was just wondering how can I figure out the volume of water, and amount of nutrients to say, grow a single head of lettuce? I don't want to have to check the pH level or feed it. I think it would be interesting to see if I can simple give it x amount of water and y amount of nutrients and come back and have a salad. Does anyone have any information on this? I'm doing some hydroponic gardening right now in my apartment, probably setting up 6 big tubs doing deep water culture. I have air blowers, nice fluorescents with really nice color temperature (sun light)... I'm just looking for some smart people to help me learn the craft. I'd like to eventually develope some alternative farming technologies. I have also experimented with LED lighting and growing plants, and I have a really good understanding of light. Any input or advice would be wonderful. I'm really just looking for guidance here.

Comments (8)

• ethnobotany
    13 years ago

There is an immediate problem with what I am reading here. In order for you to not have to change out your nutrients or "set it and forget it" the plant would have to soak up nutes in an equilibrium throughout its life cycle. What I mean is, the plant would need to use the same nutrients at all stages of growth. Since lettuce doesn't need to be flowered you may be able to accomplish this.