Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jentz_gw

Weak stems. Unsure of the problem

Jentz
10 years ago

Hi, everyone!

This year I started a hydroponics system. I'm still a complete novice and don't really know what I'm doing. About a couple of months ago I started some seedlings in peat pellets and about a month or so ago I transplanted the seedlings into the system. The system I went with is a recirculating DWC. I also transplanted some plants that were growing in dirt into the system. Well, it seems there is a problem. The dirt plants are doing good and have gotten much bigger since I've transplanted them. Some, however, appear to have weak stems and are leaning over a little. The seedlings are doing the same. They all seem to be growing just fine, but they aren't perky and standing up straight like they probably should be. The leaves and stems have a nice green color, not pail, yellow or anything of that sort. What could be causing the stems to be weak and leaning over?

I have a light thats set at 400 right now and cycle is 18/6, if any of this helps.

Any help is very much appreciated!
:)

Comments (10)

• punjabi_gardener1
    10 years ago

It sounds like you might not be getting enough light. Make sure the plants have enough room so they don't block out light for the smaller plants. Try putting the light closer to the plants but be careful not to to overheat or burn your plants.

• Jentz
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The light is right over them. The tomato plant I have in the system has grown past the light. Soon I'll be moving it to a different spot, but its not really covering the others. Most of the plants are exposed to the light with no interference from other plants blocking them and they are still leaning over. What other things can possibly cause weak stems?

Thank you for responding.

• grizzman
    10 years ago