Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
punjabi_gardener1

Water turned brown please help!

punjabi_gardener1
10 years ago

Last evening I did the standard check for PH and PPM; everything was in a good range. My PPM was around 600 and the PH was about 6.3. I woke up this morning to really muddy looking and bad smelling water. What could have caused this in less then 24 hours? I should mention that I am new at this and I transplanted from dirt two days ago so it is possible that pathogens got introduced but it seems unbelievable to me that crystal clear water could get so "infected" in a such a short time.

Comments (15)

• grizzman
    10 years ago

could it be dirt? (probably mixed with a bit of pathogen)

• punjabi_gardener1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for replying, No it cant be because I washed nearly all of it off there were only a few tiny specs left and ive had these plants in here for two days and the water turned from crystal clear to brown overnight. I think it maybe algae?

• grizzman
    10 years ago

I understand. It wasn't a sarcastic question. I've seen peoples systems where they didn't was off the dirt. that is why i asked.
    Can you post pictures? usually, algae is green and the water would have to be exposed to light for it to grow.
    I've never seen it grow THAT fast.

• nil13
    10 years ago

diatoms?

• punjabi_gardener1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry Grizzman I did not mean for my post to come of as aggressive. Here is a link to my reservoir and roots in the net basket, there a bit hard to see. http://imgur.com/a/xpMRF

Here is a link that might be useful: cloudy water pics

• grizzman
    10 years ago

I didn't think you were being aggressive. I just didn't want you to think I was being a smart aleck.
    I have never seen anything like that in hydro. Only ever seen it in small pools in creeks.