Return to the Hydroponics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cucumber Leaves Dying

Posted by hydrotrout Washington (My Page) on
Mon, May 14, 07 at 17:08

I have a home-grown NFT system that is basically a 3" PVC tube with a cap and an inlet on one end and a down-spout on the other back into the resevoir. A small fountain pump pumps the water back up to the other end. The water depth is about 1 cm. This is my first attempt at hydroponics, but it seems to be working just fine for the tomatoes and peppers in the pipe. I'm using a vegetative hydroponic nutrient mix.

The only real problem I'm having is with the cucumber plant. It's been in the system for about a week now. It's about 5 inches tall, and seemed healthy when it went in there. The leaves are turning brown at the edges and dying, but so far it's only those first oval leaves that come out when the plant sprouts. The secondary leaves seem fine.

BTW, the system is outside in full sunlight. Temps have been running between 55 and 73 degrees the past week. I have seen no bugs on the plant and have never had any disease problems with cucumbers grown in the dirt here.

Any ideas?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cucumber Leaves Dying

I had some of that with my cucumbers in a modified NFT system. Actually I noticed a little of that in some of my dirt cucumbers too. I'm not sure but I wonder if it might be PH related? I know my pH was too high for a while in the hydroponic system and the cucs seemed really slow off the mark. I have hard water so the ph is kind of a battle.

o

That could be it - We have a well with pretty hard water. I'll get a Ph kit today and check the Ph level. Is the recommended Ph for cucumbers the same as for tomatoes and peppers? I have them all in the same system.

I have some pictures at the link below

Here is a link that might be useful: Soggy Tomatoes

o