Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blazndragn

Hydroponic Hibiscus

BlaznDragn
9 years ago

Hello I am new to the hydroponics scene and my main goal is cloning of hibiscus. I would also like to do citrus trees apple trees, and other items as such.
I would like to know who has actually grown any of these hydroponically?
I was also curious if you can grow a bulb plant hydroponically from a cutting like a Stargazer Lily?

Thanks

Chris

Comments (21)

• rambotex
    9 years ago

I asked a similar question in a thread below. Obviously there aren't many Hydro flower growers

• hex2006
    9 years ago

You may need to build yourself a mist propagator to assure success.
    http://www.hibiscusworld.com/BeersBook/7-Propagation.htm

• grizzman
    9 years ago

I always say any long term plant is not a good fit with hydro because of the human nature involved.
    No I have not grown any of those plants hydroponically. However I have grown enough that I just get tired of tending to, to know anything that relies on man for its long term health (and lacks the ability to remind him) is not a good choice for hydro.

• robert_1943
    9 years ago

Grizzman you are 100% correct

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    9 years ago

Chris, you just want to clone hibiscus in hydro, not grown it in hydro long-term, right?

I'm working on the same thing. I've put together a couple of different styles of cloners and will start cuttings soon. It's hard to find info on cloning anything other than the usual, LOL.

Carol in Jacksonville

• grizzman
    9 years ago

Carol,
    Marijuana is not really the usual, just the one with the highest public profile.
    And I will point out that those guys probably have the best information available because the all come together and share their information.