Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kylle221

Is complete darkness needed for flowering?

kylle221
14 years ago

This is my first indoor grow and i am five weeks in. I started the lights on 12/12 for my tomato plants and wanted to know if i need to drape something over the area to not allow any light in at all. I have heard that just a small amount of light can interupt the flowering?

Comments (9)

• davemichigan
    14 years ago

Flowering of short-day plants (or technically long-night plants) like poinsettias or chrysanthemums will be affect by lights at night, but tomatoes are day-neutral plants, so you don't need to worry about light at night.

• kylle221
    Original Author
    14 years ago

well thats good to hear. the black tarp was a bit of an eye sore.

so is it even needed to run a 12/12 light period? or could i keep it on 18/6 and still produce the same or more fruit?

i did switch to an HPS bulb.

• davemichigan
    14 years ago

kylle, I am not that experienced with tomatoes myself, but I think more light will be better for it. It might reach maturity sooner even though the day-neutral part of it means flowering (once mature) is not affect by night length.

• wordwiz
    14 years ago

My standard response:

Look outside your window. Nature does a great job of growing plants. How much sunlight do plants get a day in the fields where there is no buildings to provide shade?

Mike

• gringojay
    14 years ago

Hi kylle,
    14 hours on + 10 hours off & you won't miss out on any total fruit harvest weight

• kylle221
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks, gringojay

• joe.jr317
    14 years ago

Look out your window? When? Where?

January: We get 1.5 hours less light than the equator in Central Indiana.

July: We get nearly 3 hours more.