Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iceman_1000000

Hydroponic Strawberry Questions

iceman_1000000
11 years ago

I decided try my luck with strawberries after growing lettuce as well as herbs with no problems. I have never done a fruiting plant before so hopefully somebody can shed some light on a few questions.

I planted bare root stock two weeks ago which now looks like this:

I was just about to increase my nutrients since I am only running them on a low dose of botanicare grow at about 450 total ppm. However I just noticed they are starting to bloom. Here are my questions:

1. Since they are blooming already should I start them on bloom nutrient?

2. Should I cut off the first blooms to try to induce more?

3. Should I ignore the bloom while increasing the grow nutrient? That way they get larger before blooming. They seem too small to be blooming now although I have no experience to know if that is a wrong assumption.

Thanks for helping!

Comments (10)

• grizzman
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I would cut the blooms and runners until the plant is large enough to support feeding the fruits. If you ever pick strawberries, the plants are typically 12" around (approximately) so shoot for something in that range. I would adjust the nutrients for vegetative growth (higher nitrogen) to promote that kind of growth and discourage fruit set / blooming.

• iceman_1000000
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for that grizzman.

So just to clarify, I'll keep them on the botanicare grow then like they are now. In addition I'll cut the blossoms off until they get bigger. Then once they get to the right size I'll switch them over to bloom as well as well as adjust my lights to something in the 2700k range. Right now they are at 6500k. Does that sound about right?