Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aimsterfl

Starting Seedlings for Hydroponics

aimsterfl
15 years ago

Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie to hydroponics and have decided to put together a small DWC system to get my feet wet. I was wondering if you all could tell me how you start your seedlings for a hydroponic system? In the past for outdoor gardening I have started my seeds in a grow tray w/ seed starting soil that has a dome over it, sort of like a mini greenhouse. I appreciate anyones input/advice!

Thanks,

Aimee

Comments (5)

• greystoke
    15 years ago

I seed in the final size netpots with perlite as a medium. If the seeds are very small, I try to pick up 3 - 4 with a wet finger and mix them in a teaspoon of sand. Then I spread the sand over the perlite. Otherwise, I pick them out with a tweezer and plant 3 - 4 in the pots.
    I keep the perlite wet with a spraybottle with clean water. When the first leafs appear I spray with nutrient diluted 1:4 untill the plants are a bit more established, after which I increase the strength to 1:2 diluted nutrient.
    Of the 3 - 4, I keep the best shoot (don't pull them out, just cut them off)
    When the roots start appearing outside the pots, I place them in their final position in the DWC container.

• User
    15 years ago

Hi Aimee ,

I got into hydro last year using three DWC setups.

Like greystoke, I used perlite.as a medium. Actually, I used three different methods for starting my plants.

First, I wicked all my mesh pots to make sure moisture / nutrients were able to get to the perlite efficiently. Note the wick to the right in the shot. It is important to make sure the seed gets enough moisture.

{{gwi:1007310}}

First, I direct seeded both lettuce and spinach in perlite in one DWC bin. Lettuce sprouting in the picture below.

{{gwi:1007311}}