Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mattyg515

First Hydroponic attempt: Pineapple PH?

MattyG515
10 years ago

So this is my first attempt at hydroponics... I've been wanting to give it a go for quite some time and have done a fair bit of research. The bucket I have is a 6 gallon and I'm using a top fed dwc. Any tips or advice is greatly appreciated. I have the FoxFarms nutrients and plan on following the feeding schedule, mostly because I don't know how else to do it... My main question is, what PH does the pineapple prefer? Right now it's at 6.5.

Comments (7)

• grizzman
    10 years ago

don't pineapples grow on trees (vs single season crops)? I'm sorry I can't be of much help. If it were me I'd target pH of 6.0 as pretty much every nutrient is available.
    I hope it works for you. Please keep us posted.

• Ricone
    10 years ago

Pineapples DO NOT GROW ON TREES. They are a Clustering Ground Fruit and Member of the Bromeliaceae family. Before Refrigeration Florida had Pineapple Plantations that were normally only 5 acres. Each year the same Plants produced even more pineapples as they Matured. Pineapples require very limited fertilizer and stop ripping the Minute they are picked. Pineapples are said to have many health benefits.

Sorry I have never grown Pineapples so I can't answer the pH question. However pineapples were grown in calcareous sandy soil here in Florida before Hawaii started Growing Dole variety after the invention of Refrigeration.

• OrcusTheGardener
    10 years ago

It is a nice setup youâÂÂve got there. Pineapple tends to grow within a pretty short period of time. Pineapples grow best when it's slightly acidic, so you'll want to keep the pH between 5-6. Try not to go over 6.

• MattyG515
    Original Author
    10 years ago