Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jvat

My First NFT - Hello, and thanks for looking!

JVAT
12 years ago

Okay, here it is. I have been researching hydroponics for a few years now and pretty intensely for the past 18 months; the wife thinks I have gone insane. I researched, designed and build my very first hydroponic system based on the compilation of information I could find online and in books. I have built a 2 channel NFT system.

So here is the rundown; I used 4”x4”-5’ Vinyl fence posts + caps for the channels. I have them supported on a sturdy folding table about 3’ off of the ground. The design is simple enough. I have a fountain pump supplying nutrient solution out of a 20 gallon Rubbermaid container. The supply line provides a nutrient solution to the upper channel which flows through the first channel before “looping down and around” to the second channel. Solution flows through second channel and “free falls” back into the reservoir. I made the adjustment to the “Free fall” after water levels looked too deep while the initial drain valve was on the terminal end. With the valve removed it looks much more like a film. (The top channel still sits a dit deep (1 cm or more)

I will try to explain as much as I can

60 Gallon Air pump supplies air to the reservoir (via 6” stone) and air to the topside of the two channels (Via small cylindrical air stones). Aeration is augmented by “Vent Holes” in the supply hose from fountain pump (Under the lid of course, the pumps pressure recirculates excess water out of the supply tube which falls right back into the solution) and by the free falling recovery system, I have also read that the free fall method helps vent “exhaust” gasses from within the channels while introducing new oxygen to the solution when it reenters the reservoir.