Return to the Hydroponics Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
organic nutrient questions

Posted by tampahydro (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 20, 08 at 4:32

Hi, I am new to hydroponics, and I have unanswered questions that I have researched for days all over the net.

I recently constructed an outdoor flood table using perlite along with a nute tank aerator.

I used the organic formula stated in growing-edge magazine using low pH rain water. I experimented with two solutions, one with high phosphorous guano, and the other with seabird guano. Both batches have been at least 7.6 pH after adding the nutrient (only have aquarium pH liquid drop test kit). I have added vinegar to lower pH, but the high pH returns by the next day. My plants also dont look too happy.

One question I cant find- Is it ok to have a higher pH when using homemade organic mixes? (ranges vary wildly on the net and books, and most dont mention organics).

Another question- Has anyone tried these formulas and had success? Could I possibly dilute the nute solution more? Should I just purchase some sulfuric acid?

One more!- Utilizing EWC, guano, superthrive, and seaweed, does anyone know alternative mixes I could use to grow peppers, tomatoes, and herbs?

*please note I own no hydro metering equipment, and from most of what I have read, they are unreliable with organics. Besides, this was supposed to be the simple approach, though I am appreciative of any knowledge someone can help me with.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: organic nutrient questions

tampahydro,
I've been looking for organic nuts mixes.
Would you post the formula from GE.

Thanks.

o
RE: organic nutrient questions

7.6 is much too high for most plants. You've got to get it down at least a full point or most anything is going to die. Tomatoes and other acidic plants will need even lower.