Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alan_davis_gw

Greenhouse Cooling!

alan_davis
10 years ago

Good Morning!
New to forum and my first post.
I am a full time market farmer and will be starting a hydroponic lettuce operation soon. I am looking for advise, comments or suggestions on how to cool my 750 sq ft greehouse.

I am located in south central Kentucky where just yesterday we had outside temperature of 93 degrees. With 50% shade cloth and exhaust fan running the house was 99 degrees inside.
I am considering, misters, wet wall evaporative cooling or a chiller on the nutrient reservoir. Maybe a combination of some of these techniques.

I will be doing NFT gutters.

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Alan Davis
www.sunnypointgardens.com

Comments (15)

• PupillaCharites
    10 years ago

Good luck starting up your new hydro-venture! I wish I had advice (I'm in Florida where misting and evaporative cooling are no where near as effective as dryer climates), but I can only offer a comment or two.

1) Is there any economical film or material that blocks IR decently and is transparent to visible light? What are the domes of tubular skylight tubes made from, since they have the same issue.