Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wkmaylish

drooping tomato plant

wkmaylish
15 years ago

This is my first year with hydroponics and everything has been

going fine until now. I have one tomato plant that has grown great and produced a great amount of green tomatoes but that plant has started to droop like its not getting enough water although the coconut fiber is always plenty moist. The tomatoes are starting to turn red but they are still small (about half the size they should be.) Any information would be great. This year was a test year to see how it would go. I would like to have a complete hydro system next year and do away with the regular garden but before I can do that I need to get the kinks like this out.

Comments (14)

• technologygarden
    15 years ago

what are you using for nutrients? What "phase" or stage are you feeding? Whats the PH and have you monitored it closely?
    and lastly, I assume these are outside, whats' the outside temps been? Does the plant "spring back" at night?

Could be lack of Oxygen in the nutrients, try adding an airstone, but need more info to be sure....How does the reservoir smell? Stinky (as in bad?)

-Eric
    Technology Garden

• hooked_on_ponics
    15 years ago

If you get me a picture of the plant I can probably tell you what's wrong.

Also, we need to know how your system is built, what the ppm or EC of the solution is, the pH, temperature of the nutrient solution... pretty much anything you can tell us.

Another good resource for these questions is the Advanced Nutrients Tech Support line. It's free, and you don't even have to use their stuff to get help from them. (Though I can vouch for their stuff being well worth it.)

Here is a link that might be useful: AN Tech Support Info

• wkmaylish
    Original Author
    15 years ago