Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dabryanman

reservoir and nutrient question

dabryanman
14 years ago

i have a tomato plant in 4" rockwool right now that is going to go into my DWC bubble bucket next week. this may sound confusing, but after i fill the bucket with the correct amount of nutes/water, how will i know how much more to add as it slowly depletes? for ex, i have a 5 gal bucket and if 2 gals are gone then how will i know how much nutrient mixture to add? i have also heard to completely flush the bucket every two weeks with plain water to get rid of nutrient buildup. im kinda a noob and this is my first attempt at hydro so please help

thanks

Comments (4)

• freemangreens
    14 years ago

As your plants mature, their roots will approach and finally invade the water in the reservoir. That's okay; it's just the way it goes.

For starters, fill your bucket until the water is just below the dangling roots. As the bubbles 'pop' they will supply nutrient to the roots.

As the plants grow, back the water level down until the plants are well established.

One thing to remember is you want to leave enough water in the system to absorb some of the heat the air pump generates. This won't be much in the beginning, but as the puddle gets smaller, it starts to heat up the water.

You want to assure the water does not cook the roots. Healthy roots are white. If they start to brown, that spells trouble.

Hope this helps. Just get 'er going and fire questions to the 4m as things progress.

• dabryanman
    Original Author
    14 years ago

thanks thats pretty helpful but i was more concerned with the levels of nutrients that i add. i assume i keep a constant EC/CF? if anyone could give me some tips about that

• jean-luc
    14 years ago

Hi dabryanman,

You anyway need to inquire and accumulate some basic knowledge by yourself, through reading and browsing web pages.