Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
looseleaflettuce

test results from trying different growing media for lettuce

LooseLeafLettuce
10 years ago

So since I eat salad very frequently I started gardening for the very first time several months ago- growing my own hydroponic lettuce . Since I get no sunlight and rely on grow lights, I wanted to maximize the efficiency so each head of lettuce wouldn't cost me too much. And since I'm a dorky scientist, I ran various tests comparing different methods. Since this took me a while and it might be useful to others, I wanted to share my lettuce growing results trying different types of grow plugs.

Equipment & Methods:

1) Containers were 1 gallon translucent polypropylene food storage containers (http://www.webstaurantstore.com/4-qt-white-square-food-storage-container/407S004PP.html), spraypainted on the exterior to block out light, except for a little strip so I could monitor the nutrient solution level (see picture for example)

2) I drilled a hole in the lid for a 2" net pot at the top, with the grow plug dropped in. Since the lid wasn't opaque, I put a sheet of tin foil on top to minimize the light exposure to the roots. I grew 12 heads of lettuce, using 3 each of 4 different grow plugs, listed below along with around how much they cost each for me (bought in bulk in amounts 50-100):

Rapid Rooter ($0.32)
Quick Start - these are similar to Rapid Rooters, not sure which company makes them ($0.29)
Sure to Grow ($0.07)
Rockwool ($0.22)

3) Nutrient solution used was 1 tsp each of General Hydroponics Flora Micro/Grow/Bloom, in 1 gallon tap water, making 7-6-11.

4) Growing method used was the passive non-circulating method proposed by Prof. BA Kratky at U. of Hawaii (see: http://www.ctahr.hawaii.edu/oc/freepubs/pdf/VC-1.pdf). This is basically deep water culture, without the air pump.